ACTC is a membership driven professional association concerned with the improvement of liberal education through the use of core texts. Membership is open to all who have an interest in liberal education 

Each member is entitled to vote on each matter submitted to the membership during its annual business meeting or through a specially called election. 

Members are called upon to vote for both the Advisory Board representatives and the Officers of ACTC. Nominations to the Board may come to the Governance Committee from the membership or the Advisory Board. The Officers are President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary. The Executive Director is an ex officio member of the board. 

ACTC Board of Directors

  • Emma Cohen de Lara, Assistant Professor of Social Sciences, University of Amsterdam
  • Daniel Cullen, Professor of Political Science, Rhodes College
  • Theodore Hadzi-Antich, Associate Professor of Government and Humanities, Austin Community College
  • Tuan Hoang, Associate Professor of Great Books, Pepperdine University
  • Richard Kamber, Professor of Philosophy, College of New Jersey
  • Joseph Knippenberg, Professor of Politics, Oglethorpe University
  • Michael Krom, Professor of Philosophy, St. Vincent College
  • Page Laws, Dean, Honors College Emerita, Norfolk State University
  • Thomas Huntak Lee, Emeritus Professor of Linguistics and Modern Language, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Molly McGrath, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Assumption University
  • Roosevelt Montas, Director of the Center for the Core Curriculum, Columbia University
  • Joshua Parens, Professor of Philosophy and Politics, University of Dallas, President of ACTC
  • Jacquie Pfeffer Merrill, Director, Free Expression Project, Bipartisan Policy Center
  • Neil Robertson, Associate Professor, Foundation Year, Early Modern Studies and Contemporary Studies, University of King’s College
  • Kerri L. Tom, Concordia University Irvine, Professor of English and Director of General Education
  • José M. Torralba, Professor of Moral and Political Philosophy and Director of the Civic Humanism Center,  University of Navarra
  • Charlotte Thomas, Professor of Philosophy, Great Books, and McDonald Center, Mercer University; Executive Director of ACTC (ex officio)

ACTC Officers

  • Joshua Parens, President
  • Vice President, Molly McGrath
  • Treasurer, Neil Robertson (interim)
  • Secretary, Phil LeCuyer
  • Charlotte Thomas, Executive Direct